Fe Fi FAUX Fum

jill.jpgDo you like faux painting?

I have to admit, I am a fan of fauxing painting.  I also believe it can be overdone.  I mean, don’t faux every room it your house, but a room or two can be very nice.

Nowadays, you can go to just about any home store and they’ll have how to videos, instructions, paint, glaze, tools of the trade and even some cheater tools (they work, but they are not as good as the real thing).  In any case, if you have the time and are feeling creative, go ahead and give it a shot. 

I actually find fauxing to be a great way to release some creative energy.  I’ve always wanted to be an artist, but stick figures are as good as I get.  But when I faux, it’s like I’m Picasso or Da Vinchi. I guess I’m lucky, because the first time I fauxed it came out great.  It’s funny because we think practice makes perfect, but I think when it comes to a BASIC faux, the key is no structure, no pattern, no rhyme, no reason … and that makes the most creative and attractive faux to me.  Unlike those rooms we’ve all seen where someone has taken a sea sponge and just dabbed it all over the room – YUK! 

There are many different styles of faux painting and it could take years to become an expert with all the different styles.

If you want to give it a shot, but you’re afraid, go to a home store and get a piece (poster size) of wall board, add a little spray on texture and go to town.  Practice, try different techniques until you’re confident to move to a whole wall.  Even if the wall doesn’t come out the way you want, you can jsut paint over it!

 A few keys to success:

– Painting the base coat is the hardest and most boring part.

– Remember, no patterns, no structure – use several different movements to create the look.

–  Do a 3 x 3 (ish) size space at a time.

– Be sure to smooth all brush, sponge or what ever stokes to give it a more realistic look.

– It’s also important to smooth out the edges of the (3×3) space you’re currently working on.  This makes the transisition between the current and the last and the next space you’ll be working on.

– Stand back and look at your work – often. Then before it’s dry you can take a little paint away or add a little bit more.

– It’s a good idea to have a spray bottle with water in it, in case you need to smooth something out.  Just spray lightly and then take whatever tool you are using and smooth it out. Notice there’s a lot of smoothing.

– You can add more glaze and/or water to thin/lighten the faux color. Do this in the beginning and write down your recipe.  1 cup paint, 1 cup glaze and 1/4 cup water … or what ever.  I’ve used a brand called McClosky.  It’s paint and glaze premixed.  (Mocha is one of my favorite colors) anyway, I’ve used it right out of the container, I’ve added glaze and I’ve added water.  Use your practice board to find the right shade for you.

– A base coat and one color glaze can look fantastic, but don’t be afraid to add a third color as an accent.

For me the key is to be creative, don’t follow any patterns when you apply the faux paint.  Move your arm in a circle, up and down, smooth, dab, rub, smooth, zip zag, smooth. More paint here, less over there and smooth.

Give it a try, the worst thing that could happen is that you’ll have to paint it again, or hire a professional. Let me know how it goes.

Jill Denton ~ Hometown GMAC Real Estate and Changing Spaces Interior Redesign & Staging

Leave a Reply

